PokeLogic: Wonder Trade Is The Best Feature of Pokemon X and Y

imagpoke

Imagine if every day you exchanged gifts from someone miles and miles away. It could be something awesome, like an iPad, or something sucky, like a stick of gum. But isn’t the uncertainty of it all fun?

That is why Wonder Trade is, in my humble opinion (yeah right), the best new feature in Pokemon X and Y? Why bring it up three months after the game’s release, you ask? Because I just restarted Pokemon X and have realized how unintentionally awesome Wonder Trade is when you are just starting out the game.

For example, in one trade, I received a level one Goomy, a Dragon type you don’t see until much later in the game. It was in my team for a good while, but I boxed in place of Skiddo (I wanted Gogoat, because of the cartoon; sue me). I also received a level one Fletching with Gale Wings (an amazing Ability by the way) but traded it away because I didn’t realize what Gale Wings did until I read it on Serebii.net. Dumb mistake.

You know what else I received through Wonder Trade? A Chimchar. A freaking Chimchar. You know, the one that evolves into the ass-kicking Infernape? That one.

In case you are wondering, no I am not cheating and using overleveled Pokemon that I’ve received to power through the game. I either re-trade them or box them for breeding later. I’m not an asshole.

Wonder Trade, and the whole revamped Internet system as a whole, is an amazing addition to the Pokemon game series that adds many more hours of gameplay to game that is painfully short. I mean, it’s either this or spending every waking moment feeding your Mewtwo PokePuffs and watch him not give a single fuck about it. Well, you can still do that, it’s kind of amusing.

Keep tuned for more of my Pokemon exploits with the PokeLogic tag!

– B

2 thoughts on “PokeLogic: Wonder Trade Is The Best Feature of Pokemon X and Y

  1. I’ve had one of two nice ones from wonder trade, but must admit I’ve not used it as much as the GTS. I’ve been amazed at some of the GTS trades I’ve received. Happy gaming! 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment! A lot of the time the trades are messy, like I will get a string of Volbeat (like seriously, who catches Volbeat anyway?) but I’ve gotten some major surprises. I could Wonder Trade for hours! The GTS is also much better now that you can actively search for ones you’ve never seen before. It’s an all around improved system IMO

Leave a Reply

