EgoRamble: What The Hell Happened To Customer Service?

A couple of days ago, I was watching a clip of Real Housewives of Atlanta, where Sheree Whitfield was fighting with this event planner. It was a hot mess, and at the end, she asked, “whatever happened to customer service?”

Well I have an answer: it went straight to hell.

I won’t go into many details because it is personal (and financial), but I just had one of the worst customer service experiences of my life with a company that claims to excel at it. Lies they tell. I was simply trying to help them verify my information, and the “senior analyst” had the nerve to basically call me a liar. Instead of trying to check the information that was given, or clarify herself when asking questions, she actually told me that I was wrong. Even when I told her what she was saying made no sense, in the most cordial way possible of course, she refused to budge. I have had a number of positive and negative customer experiences, but this was by and large the worst. It was irritating, condescending, and downright insulting.

Of course, thinking about it, the result of the call will be a good thing for me in the long run, but I am still upset that I had to go through it at all.

I can understand that financial institutions have to deal with messy situations all the time, which probably makes them weary. But I do not appreciate basically being called a liar on the phone by some crazy person who was unwilling to even get their facts straight.

This was not the best way to start the year.

Leave a Reply

