Some Ego Rich Resolutions

By B

So it’s the first day of 2014.

Ok, technically it’s almost over, but still, it’s a fresh year, which means it’s time to set incredibly unrealistic hopes and expectations for ourselves that we will forget about by January 7th.

I wrote in my DayOne app last year that I didn’t believe in New Years resolutions for that reason. Looking at it last night, I realized that I only made that proclamation because I was kind of depressed and was being overly dramatic.

Now that I’m in a relatively better space, I’ve decided that I do in fact believe in New Years resolutions, that they can be attainable, and that they are worth mapping out. So, here are mine:

BLOG MORE – stuff got crazy in the second half of 2013, but consider this post the official return of EgoRich!

Take charge of my money – I am tired of being broke. It sucks, especially because I don’t have to be. I’ve decided that I need to stop being afraid of looking at my bank balance and ignoring that voice in my head that whispers “you don’t really need this” whenever I’m at Macy’s. Progress today: I was thisclose to buying an Alfani sweater on sale, but I put it back.

Work out and keep better track of my health – I actually pay for a gym membership at Planet Fitness, and I’ve only used it once. Sure, it could be closer to my job and all, but I intend on using it. At least once a week. I also want to make sure that I am not neglecting my health. I plan on keeping much better track of it this year.

Use my iPad more – I love my iPad, but I know that I don’t use it enough at all. I mean, it cost me $600 after all. You would think it would be a daily part of my life. There are times when it just sits in my messenger bag, collecting dust (unless I need to charge it). Considering most of my computer activity surrounds Facebook anyway, why not use my awesome device?

And finally…

Stop stressing over my friendships – if there is one thing that has snatched years off of my life clock, it’s worrying about whether someone I consider my friend is actually my friend. Frankly, it’s a waste of time. This will probably be the most difficult of my resolutions to keep, but I truly believe that I’ve reached the point in my life where I no longer want to keep giving to people and get nothing back in return. Similarly, I want to nurture the friendships I am actually sure of, especially since I know I have been neglectful of some of them.

These are my New Years resolutions, and I believe they are actually attainable. Feel free to share yours in the comments!

Leave a Reply

