Ego Reflections: Why we shouldn’t obsess over Cory Monteith’s drug problem

Cory Monteith’s death is nothing short of devastating. For one, the show #Glee will forever be permanently changed and there is nothing that we can do about it. I’m not even sure what kind of future Glee has anymore, given the fact that Monteith’s character Finn was so integral to the foundation of the show–even in his absence these last few seasons. Glee fans who were looking forward to his return in future episodes are undoubtedly crushed, as is the Glee cast and crew, and no one more than his beloved girlfriend Lea Michele.

This morning I am watching Good Morning America (GMA) while eating my eggs and one of the headlines of the hour is CORY MONTEITH: WAS HE LEADING A DOUBLE LIFE? I roll my eyes and contemplat changing the channel, only the remote is on the other side of the kitchen island and that would be such a hassle. Nevertheless, something about this headlines bothers me (enough to write about it obviously). I just don’t understand why we need to obsess over the drug problem.

Yes, he was a drug addict. Yes, he died of an overdose. But does it matter? Is it our place to ridicule him, or dig into his personal life for skeletons?

I don’t think so. No, I think we ought to stay out of it and let all of the good things represent his legacy. I don’t mean that we shouldn’t acknowledge that he had a problem or even fabricate a cause of death. I just think that if I were Monteith’s family, friends and especially Lea Michele the worst part of this ordeal (besides losing him) would be having to defend his good and honorable qualities. I wouldn’t wish that on my own family, friends or boyfriend so I think that the media should take a couple of seats and let this one pass.

According to Eonline.com,

“The preliminary results come just a day after the BCSC confirmed that they were fast-tracking the autopsy and tox analysis due to the intense public interest surrounding the case.”

Really though? “Intense public interest?” This is what I am talking about, why can’t we leave it alone? Perhaps it is America’s obsession with seeing the ‘golden boy’ fall or something but in my opinion it’s really so pathetic. The coroner’s office overlooked  other autopsies, many which may be more time sensitive, for this case because the public is nosy? If I were the coroner I would have told the public to take a seat.

We know what the media was going to do as soon as reports about his drug history surfaced. We knew before he even died what would happen if the words dead, Cory Monteith and hotel were in the same sentence.  Look at Michael, Whitney, Anna Nicole–the list goes on and on. In some ways this is worse because Monteith never had a bad girl and guy image like the others. He had a drug problem, but he fessed up to it unlike Whitney who famously said that she “makes too much money to ever smoke crack” and also tried to dimish the extent of her own drug habit.

What I am trying to say is, let’s back off. Treat others like you would want to be treated. Obsessing over his drug habit isn’t going to make it any better. We all have skeletons in our closet. Would you want yours on blast like this? Plus the world just lost one of the cutest guys on television! Priorities people!

– P

— — —

I completely agree. In fact, I’ll take it one step further: stop calling Cory Monteith troubled.

Nearly every article I have read about Monteith’s death has referred to him as “troubled,” almost exclusively because of his stint in rehab back in April (that admittedly came to the surprise of everybody).

I don’t think it’s fair to his memory to slap that label on him because of one notable incident or situation. Yes, it’s now public knowledge that Monteith struggled with drug use for much of his life, but that was way in the past, and not in public. We should use that, or his rehab stint, as an opportunity to call him “troubled,” at least not without some more context into the situation.

Until more is known about the situation (and frankly, there isn’t much there that doesn’t bleed into privacy invasion), let’s just acknowledge his contributions, however short, to TV and mourn the loss of an incredibly young life.

– B

Leave a Reply

